top of page

The 22 Best Albums of 2022


Every year that I've released a Top 10 Albums post, I've included the caveat that there is so, so much good music out there that it's almost unfair to ask me to try and listen to all of them. With that in mind, I hope you know this is not an exhaustive list of the best music of the year, but rather the top 2022 albums of those I actually listened to. I was even more proactive this year than I have been in some years past-- in fact, this is the most on top of new music I've been in quite some time, I think --but personal biases tend to win the day. So, as always, it's a strange mixture of artists/bands I already liked with some critically acclaimed albums I proactively sought out after reading about them. If you see an album you loved excluded from this list, it's more likely that I just didn't get around to them than it is that I didn't enjoy it.

One year on from being "thoroughly underwhelmed" by the music of 2021, I'm here to say that 2022 was an incredible year for music. One of the strongest I can think of since maybe 2015 (which had Kendrick Lamar, Adele, Sufjan Stevens, Chris Stapleton, Florence + The Machine, Alabama Shakes, Leon Bridges, Bruno Mars). Where last year had a lot of good but no great releases, this year had multiple bona fide greats. Where years like 2020, 2018 and 2016 had some incredible heavy hitters near the top of my list but a stark dropoff in quality behind them, this year's bench runs deep; so much so that I don't know how many of last year's Top 10 would have even made the cut this year. Two, maybe? Three? You get the point: the albums this year have set a bar future years will have trouble matching.


Enough rambling; to the list! First, a rundown of 12 honorable mention albums to comprise 22 albums in '22. These range from albums that just narrowly missed out on the Top 10, to others that never really were in contention for top honors, but I still very much enjoyed (these are listed in alphabetical order, not ranked):

American Bollywood // Young The Giant

Ants From Up There // Black Country, New Road

The Car // Arctic Monkeys

Dance Fever // Florence + The Machine

Dropout Boogie // The Black Keys

Into The Blue // Broken Bells

The Loneliest Time // Carly Rae Jepsen

Midnights // Taylor Swift

MOTOMAMÍ // Rosalía

Palomino // First Aid Kit

Ramona Park Broke My Heart // Vince Staples

Special // Lizzo

 

10. Gemini Rights // Steve Lacy

I was familiar with Steve Lacy from his previous work with The Internet, as well as his contribution to Vampire Weekend's album Father Of The Bride-- which I loved --but this was my first listen to a full solo album of his. As someone relatively new to the hype, it's not hard for me to see why he's a rising star. Gemini Rights is a smooth listen from start to finish, and its best songs, which include the TikTok-famous "Bad Habit," have immense replay value.


Best Track: "Bad Habit"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Cody (Freestyle)", "Helmet"


 

9. Harry's House // Harry Styles

If you follow me on Instagram, you're likely already aware of the identity crisis I had upon learning that Harry Styles was the king of my 2022 Spotify Wrapped. Truthfully, though, I shouldn't have been surprised; Harry's House was easily my favorite pure pop record of the year, and I've listened and re-listened and re-listened without getting tired. I said this about the album back in my May review: "All in all, it's hard for me to label Harry's House anything but a rousing success. Its sound has walked the very "fine line" (haHA!) of pleasing his fanbase while likely being able to draw in new fans and admirers. Will this album be one that stands the test of time? Maybe not. But is it more interesting, thoughtful and creative than the majority of Pop music today? Certainly."


Best Track: "Daydreaming"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Boyfriends", "Late Night Talking"

 

8. Un Verano Sin Ti // Bad Bunny

I'll confess I was late to the Bad Bunny party, but having finally arrived: I get it, Bunnyheads (what are his fans called?). Un Verano Sin Ti is a trip, banger by banger, through reggaeton, hip-hop, samba, and dance pop. It's long, with a near-hour and a half runtime, but doesn't overstay its welcome.

Best Track: "La Corriente"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Moscow Mule", "Neverita"


 

7. The Forever Story // J.I.D.

This was, for many, THE Rap release of the year. Subjectively, I couldn't get quite as into it musically as some of the other hip-hop albums that will be listed at this article. But objectively, there's no denying J.I.D.'s skillful flow and profound lyricism. Forever Story deserves the hype, and its lack of Grammy nominations was criminal.

Best Track: "Money"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Dance Now", "Sistanem"





 

6. Dawn FM // The Weeknd

This required multiple listens, but I'm oh-so-glad that I gave it another try after not being wowed by it the first time through. I've always been more an 'appreciator' than a fan of The Weeknd, but this album, with its seamless transitions between pulsating tracks and its high-minded concept, turned me into both. I highly recommend listening to it on a drive.


Best Track: "How Do I Make You Love Me?"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Take My Breath Away", "Sacrifice"

 

5. It's Almost Dry // Pusha T

Pusha T is another artist, like Steve Lacy, whose music I was familiar with but not to the extent that I had ever deliberately sat down and listened to an entire record of his. I'm glad that changed with It's Almost Dry, a banger of an album from start to finish. It may not be as laced with profound artistry as the other rap albums on this list, but is easily the most re-listenable of any of them.

Best Track: "Dreamin' Of The Past"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Diet Coke", "Neck And Wrist"

 

4. SOS // SZA

After a five-year hibernation, SZA finally re-emerged to bless us with new music. Her second album was absolutely worth the wait. SOS features the same heartbreaking lyrical vulnerability and delicious vocals that made us fall in love with Ctrl back in 2017, but with even more maturity and introspection in the former, and even more musical variety in the latter. There's little-to-no filler in this album, just an hour-plus of smooth listening.


Best Track: "Good Days"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Seek And Destroy", "Kill Bill"

 

3. And In The Darkness, Hearts Aglow // Weyes Blood

Weyes Blood is definitely what many would consider "mood music," and I don't know that I will always be in the mood to queue up this album. But for your more somber, peaceful, quietly angsty moods-- say, ones that might be around a lot in these bleak January and February months, for example --this is a perfect album. The ethereal singer could sing the phone book and I'd listen breathlessly, but when coupled with gorgeous lyrics and a California soft-rock style, the effect is all the more potent.

Best Track: "Twin Flame"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "The Worst Is Done", "Grapevine"

 

2. Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers // Kendrick Lamar

This really should be “1b” if I’m being honest. I went back and forth multiple times on which album should wear the crown this year; in fact, it’s a question I’ve been asking for months now. In the end, Kendrick slots in at #2 just because Mr. Morale isn’t as easily re-listenable as the #1 album. That’s not exactly a criticism though, especially because this is intentionally not an album for those craving a radio hit. It’s Kendrick at his most stripped-down and vulnerable, and it’s as powerful as ever. Here’s what I said back in May: "The reality is that I genuinely have no real criticism of Mr. Morale & The Big Steppers; it’s not because this is the greatest album ever made, nor even his greatest album, arguably (I hate to compare masterpieces, but I would personally have both good kid m.A.A.d city and To Pimp A Butterfly edging it still). There's just nothing wrong with it, though. The production, as always, is immaculate, and though there may not be as many commercial hits, it’s his most fully realized, consistent album yet, and a work of art so vulnerable that to critique it almost feels like criticizing the man more than the artist."

Best Track: "Father Time"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "Savior", "N95"

 

1. RENAISSANCE // Beyoncé

Listening to RENAISSANCE reminded me of how I first got addicted to coffee all those years ago. Upon first “taste,” I wasn’t sure I liked it. But I did know I needed more of it. As soon as I finished listening, I was already ready to listen again, despite it not being at all what I was expecting. I should have known the greatest entertainer of our time, with the employ of the filthiest production I’ve heard in ages, would eventually wear me down if it didn’t win me over right away. An ode to queer and black identity, and an homage to multiple family members, Beyoncé has changed the game once more with RENAISSANCE. The album puts you on notice from the first beat and doesn’t let you go without first breaking a sweat on the dance floor. Just as how, all these years later, I still can’t go a day without drinking coffee? All these months later, I still can’t go a week without listening to this album from start to finish.


Best Track: "VIRGO'S GROOVE"

Silver and Bronze Medals: "HEATED", "CUFF IT"

 

If you're interested, please see my Best of 2022 playlist linked here! It features tracks from every album in the Top 10 of this article, as well as a few of the honorable mentions.

Comments


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page