top of page

The Year So Far: Mid-Year Grammys


Before we dive into the highlights and lowlights of 2022 so far, allow us to begin with a disclaimer: we here at The Couch understand that over half a year has passed by now, and mid-August might be a strange time to do a status check on the pulse of the year. But between the happiness of summer dayz, big life changes for some of us, busy work, we got a little behind. So sue us! It may just about be the end of #hotgirlsummer, but it's not quite #thotumn, so I think a mid-year check in is still in order.


Besides, in case you haven't heard, COVID isn't reeeallly over. We're all still pretty much operating on pandemic time, right?


 

The timing of this particular piece is also somewhat awkward. It feels strange to call this a "midyear Grammys," given that we're just 4 months removed from the last Grammys ceremony, and believe it or not, less than two months from the end of the eligibility period for the 2023 Grammys. Not to worry, this is not a placeholder for a bonafide Grammy nomination prediction piece, which will arrive later this Fall.

Rather, for now, enjoy a brief, only partially-informed take on the state of music thus far:

ALBUM OF THE YEAR:

Mr. Morale and the Big Steppers, Kendrick Lamar

Much like I was last year, I've tried to be more proactive about staying up on buzzy new releases, rather than back-load at year's end on the acclaimed albums, which has long been my m.o. for both music and movies. So rest assured this is at least a semi-informed opinion on my part, and not just defaulting to bias. But....look. It was always going to be Kendrick or Beyoncé in this slot, right? Can you blame me? Two of my favorites, two of THE greatest artists of all time, both blessing us with new music within months of each other? It was too good to be true. And though I waffled a lot on which album to single out as best thus far, so much so that I would not be surprised if my year-end ranking sees them ordered differently, ultimately I have to give the narrow edge to King Kenny. Mr. Morale is such an airtight record, the tracklist increasingly profound and vulnerable, furthering the legacy of a rapper whose profundity and vulnerability had already been groundbreaking.

Honorable Mention: RENAISSANCE, Beyoncé; Harry's House, Harry Styles

 

SONG OF THE YEAR:

"VIRGO'S GROOVE", Beyoncé

This was yet another category that came down to King Kendrick and Queen B. And, just as a spoiler, you're more than likely to see these two go head-to-head not just for Couch love the rest of this year, but for Grammy love next Spring. Kendrick's latest installment in his 'Heart series,' arguably his finest yet, is absolutely worthy of claiming the crown of best individual track of 2022 thus far. But is it so much better than the field that I can justify him beating out Beyoncé twice? I don't think so. And it's not just an attempt at redistributing the wealth...despite coming out mere weeks ago, I think I have re-listened to "VIRGO'S GROOVE" more than any one song this year. I can't get enough of it. I'm a sucker for two things: Beyoncé, and new-age Disco/Funk, and this is both things at their best. It's a banger as a standalone track, and believe it or not, it's even better in the context of RENAISSANCE.


Honorable Mention: "The Heart Part V", Kendrick Lamar; "My Love", Florence + The Machine

 

RECORD OF THE YEAR:

"About Damn Time", Lizzo

I know the Grammys doesn't differentiate this way, but I always think of Song of the Year as "Best Song" and Record of the Year as "Best Radio Smash." And if we're being honest, most of the biggest and best radio smashes thus far this year have been holdovers from 2021, such as hits from Dua Lipa, Ed Sheeran, SZA and Doja Cat. But thankfully Lizzo, queen of Summer 2019, returned to drop another smash on us right at the outbreak of summer this year. What did I just say a bit ago? Few things make me happier than nu-disco, funky songs, and this is that to a T. I'll venture to say this might be Lizzo's best song to date. It's easily her most addicting hook, and her self-empowering, body-positive, no-fucks-given songwriting hasn't fallen off in the least.


Honorable Mention: "Late Night Talking", Harry Styles; "Wait For U", Future feat. Drake and Tems

 

BEST NEW ARTIST:

Kate Bush

You guys hear about this? Apparently there's this eclectic, alt-pop artist out of England named Kate Bush, and she's really lighting up the radio airwaves and the TikToks right now. Her catchy new single, "Running Up The Hill," was featured in Netflix's Stranger Things, which naturally helped her blow up. "Running Up The Hill" is a phenomenal track, and that's just the tip of the iceberg when it comes to what Bush can do as an artist. In an era of more experimental and alternative pop music, she's one to watch for the future, no doubt.


 

MISCELLANEOUS CATEGORIES THAT AREN'T ACTUALLY GRAMMY CATEGORIES


The Coldplay Award for "Album I'm Scared To Listen To Because I'm Worried I Won't Like It":

Motomami, Rosalía


Honorable Mention: Surrender, Maggie Rogers

The Taylor Swift Award for "Album I'm Scared To Listen To Because I'm Worried I WILL Like It":

Familia, Camila Cabello


Honorable Mention: Mainstream Sellout, Machine Gun Kelly

The Ed Sheeran Award for "Radio Hit That Is Far Too Overplayed":

"First Class," Jack Harlow


Dishonorable Mention: "Light Switch," Charlie Puth

The Dua Lipa Award for "Radio Hit That Was Not Played Nearly Enough":

"N95", Kendrick Lamar


Honorable Mention: "Bam Bam", Camila Cabello feat. Ed Sheeran

The Lizzo Award for "Radio Hit That Is Played A Ton But I Really Don't Mind":

"As It Was", Harry Styles


Honorable Mention: "BREAK MY SOUL", Beyoncé


Comments


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page