top of page

Christian's Top 10 Movies of 2017


Honorable Mentions: Star Wars: The Last Jedi, Win It All, Dunkirk, John Wick Chapter 2, The Disaster Artist, Get Out, Call Me By Your Name, Stronger, Thor: Ragnarok, Logan Lucky

 

10. The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)

Look, I know seeing Adam Sandler on the poster should probably disqualify this film from being on my list. But for anyone who has seen Punch Drunk Love or Funny People, they know that when Sandler is on his game, he BRINGS IT! Meyerowitz can now be added to the list of great Sandler performances. Noah Baumbach delivers the perfect family dramedy that strikes a balance between light and dark carefully. Never thought somebody like Ben Stiller was capable to bringing me to tears before seeing this movie.

9. Wonder Woman

We all figured this would be the best entry in the DCEU. That was practically a given. But what I didn’t expect this time last year is that it would make my top 10 list. Gal Gadot is so good in this role and it’s all thanks to her that this DC universe can’t reboot itself. Forget best looking superhero movie, this is one of the best looking films of the year period. From the gritty wartime action, to the smaller intimate moments between Diana and Steve Trevor dancing in the snow. I hope Patty Jenkins continues to direct more action films beyond only Wonder Woman. The genre will be better off for it.

8. Blade Runner 2049

I’ll just come right out with it: Blade Runner 2049 is a visual masterpiece and I highly doubt anything will come close for a very long time. The pacing may bother some, but, even though it’s a slow burn for most of its runtime, I was never bored. My eyes were glued to the screen and amazed by what had been achieved here. This is the type of film that the term “movie magic” refers too. Every frame is handled so carefully and every scene is directed with such purpose that I find it hard to pinpoint anything I would even take out of its almost-3 hour runtime.

7. Molly's Game

To say Aaron Sorkin is a great writer should come as no surprise to anybody. But turns out, he’s also a damn good director! His talent for writing dialogue and keeping a film going combined with Jessica Chastain’s zippy delivery and charm makes Molly’s Game hit the jackpot. I have never been so entertained watching people play poker.

6. 3 Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Martin McDonagh is a writer/director who continues to deliver interesting work. He puts spins on different ideas and creates characters full of surprising traits and surprises. While I don’t think this is his all-time best work (that would be Seven Psychopaths for me), I believe he has crafted something truly unique with this crime tale that can work as both a dark comedy and dense drama. This is a perfect star vehicle for Francis McDormand to show off why she’s one of the best performers in the business, and gives actors Sam Rockwell and Woody Harrelson something to sink their teeth into and conjure up some pretty unforgettable characters.

5. Logan

For fans of Wolverine, this is the movie we wanted all along. Fortunately for everybody else, it’s a great movie on its own terms. James Mangold and Hugh Jackman really understand this character and this world, bringing to life some of the nitty gritty aspects that have been missing in pervious entries. This is more of a Western than a comic book film, and all the better for it. Some obviously third act problems aren’t even enough to bring down this colossally entertaining and touching film. For a character that he has been playing since the year 2000, Jackman still manages to pack plenty of surprises out of Wolverine.

4. Baby Driver

Fast, cool, and entertaining as hell. Baby Driver is the movie equivalent to spending a summer day riding roller coasters at your favorite theme park. Edgar Wright continues his perfect track record as a writer/director and this is definitely up there with his best. The fact that he was able to create an original action thriller that also happens to be a musical (sort of) is pretty remarkable in this day and age, and the type of genre-bending I like to see experimented with.

3. Lady Bird

The most authentic coming-of-age story I’ve seen in at least a few years. Director Greta Gerwig serves up a phenomenal directorial debut about a mother and daughter that will make those who view it reflect on their own families and maybe see a little bit of themselves on screen. I wasn’t totally sold on the trailer, but I was brought in and hooked by the very first scene. Saoirse Ronan and Laurie Metcalf have some of the best back-and-forth of any screen duo of 2017 and I can’t wait to watch it again just for them.

2. Brigsby Bear

I am floored by how emotional I got watching Brigsby Bear. Some of my favorite people in the industry (Phil Lord & Chris Miller, The Lonely Island, SNL cast members) are involved with this movie, so I figured it would be right up my ally. But I didn’t expect just how much this would hit me. This is a film that celebrates friendship, creativity and filmmaking while also being absurd, funny and just a little bit weird.

1. The Big Sick

I rarely go back to see a movie a second time in the theater. The Big Sick I saw 3 times. I probably sound like a broken record throughout this list, saying “oh this movie does such a great job with both comedy and drama, blah blah blah.” But nobody handles that balance better than The Big Sick. It made my heart so overjoyed to see something so real and so personal brought to life by real life couple Kumail Nanjiani and Emily V. Gordon about their early relationship days and the complications that were dropped on them. A romantic comedy that actually cares about the depth of its characters and diverts from being a sappy mess is a rare thing, and one that I’m thankful for. The cherry on top is seeing Holly Hunter and Ray Romano on screen together playing Emily’s parents. Any film that brings Ray Romano back to us should be awarded all the gold the Earth has to offer.

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page