top of page

Daniel's Top Albums Of 2017


Every year that I've released a Top 10 Albums post, I've included the caveat that there is so, so much good music out there that it's almost unfair to ask me to try and listen to all of them. So with that in mind, I hope you know this is not a definitive list of the best music of the year, but rather the top 2017 albums of those I actually listened to. So, as always, it's a strange mixture of artists/bands I already liked with some critically acclaimed albums I proactively sought out after reading about them.

It was a decent year in music, not a great one. There was no shortage of great individual songs, but for the second consecutive year, I found only a few albums that wowed me, or seemed like an instant classic. Case in point: the only 3 that really grabbed me this year are the Top 3 of these rankings (the rest of my Top 10 has undergone about 9 edits today). But enough rambling; to the list!! First, a rundown of the albums that may have missed my cut for Top 10, but that you should still listen to (in ranked order, kind of):

Honorable Mentions

- I See You, The Xx

- Big Fish Theory, Vince Staples

- Turn Out The Lights, Julien Baker

- Before The Bridge, Eddie Berman

- What Now, Sylvan Esso

- Pure Comedy, Father John Misty

- What If Nothing, Walk The Moon

- Kaleidoscope EP, Coldplay

- The Thrill Of It All, Sam Smith

- Funk Wav Bounces, Vol. 1, Calvin Harris and various artists

- Sacred Hearts Club, Foster The People

10. Melodrama // Lorde

You'd be forgiven if Lorde's sophomore album left you missing the radio strength of each track and lyrical complexity that was present on her 2013 debut. One can't deny, though, the terrific production, variety in sound, and emotional vulnerability in her Grammy-nominated work.

9. Wonderful Wonderful // The Killers

From October: "The Killers have never been critical darlings. But let the fact that the vast majority of reviews have praised, or at least praised with faint damnation, Wonderful Wonderful be your reference point-- The Killers' latest is some of their best in a very long time, and certainly their most creative ever." Read the full review here.

8. Ctrl, SZA

SZA's debut studio album was extremely anticipated, thanks to Internet popularity as well as endorsements from Kendrick Lamar and Frank Ocean, among others. Ctrl, a self-professed concept album about control in the artist's life, also functions as somewhat of a confessional for SZA, whose syrupy voice sings themes of faith, jealousy, sexual politics, and personal self-esteem.

7. From A Room, Vol. 1 // Chris Stapleton

Something big happened in 2017: Daniel listened to a country album, and enjoyed the hell out of it! Chris Stapleton is the reason why. He is an unbelievable talent, with musical versatility and a voice to die for. "If all Country sounded like this, I'd be a fan!" has become the token response from myself and other Country-bashers. From A Room: Vol. 1 is a natural continuation from 2015's Traveller, with equal doses of heartfelt apologies and rip-roarin' Southern rock anthems.

6. Crack-Up // Fleet Foxes

From August: "I'll admit, I initially felt a little letdown by Crack-Up. It wasn't that I didn't think it was that great. Rather, it was that after a nearly 6-year hiatus, I think I was hoping for something earthshaking. Upon a 2nd and 3rd listen to the album, however, I remembered that Fleet Foxes were never the band to shake the earth. They're just a group of incredibly talented musicians with a delightful ear for harmony. Crack-Up arguably provides more complexity and lyrical profundity than any prior work, and it is a good indicator that the band can well survive a long break and the loss of one of their key members."

5. Sleep Well Beast // The National

This was a late riser in my Top 10. I was a bit tardy to musicheads' love affair with The National, really only tuning in with 2013's Trouble Will Find Me. With Sleep Well Beast, though, I finally feel like I 'get it.' The soul-baring nature of the lyrics feel relatable instead of exploitative, and the band pursues a slightly more adventurous sound this time around, which complements Matt Berninger's baritone vocals wonderfully.

4. Masseduction // St. Vincent

Masseduction marked a tonal shift for St. Vincent, whose self-titled album in 2015 was one of the best rock and roll of the last several years. This album sees many more stripped-back songs, as well as a central album concept of image-obsession and beauty double standards. In my opinion, the slower tunes are a vehicle to showcase Annie Clark's amazing vocals and storytelling. And, lest those tracks cause you to miss the 'old St. Vincent,' there are still high-tempo bangers like "Pills" and "Los Ageless."

3. Songs Of Experience // U2

U2's latest walked a unique line of being more popular with old fans than with critics. From this month: "I went into Songs Of Experience with my hard-to-please nature in full force, bracing myself for disappointment. I must say, I came out of it with more than acceptance: Songs Of Experience got my attention from the start, enchanted me with a run of terrific tracks, and solidified its place as far superior to either of its two predecessors, if not more." Read the full review here.

2. 4:44 // Jay-Z

It took me a long time to get around listening to Jay-Z's latest, mostly because of #NoTidalProbs. But I'm glad I finally came around. The hype is real: the production is simple, uncluttered perfection, and Jay's flow hasn't lost a step at all. What's more, his lyrics are almost groundbreaking in their intimacy and apology/repentance.

1. DAMN. // Kendrick Lamar

I tried really hard to not rank Kendrick #1. I promise. I almost had Jay-Z up top, I thought about putting U2 up there, I even considered a wild card like St. Vincent or Fleet Foxes. Because, as my little brother declared, "You can't rank his album #1 again, when you already said it was his 3rd best." But there's no denying it. DAMN. was both the best-selling and best-reviewed album of the year, an extraordinarily rare feat, and it was absolutely deserved. As I said back in April, "it's time to address the reality. DAMN. is still an incredible album; one of the better rap releases of the last decade at least, and easily the best record of young 2017. Kendrick Lamar is on his 4th full-length album, and each feels like it is too magnificent overall and different in style to be accurately compared to another." Read the full review here.

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page