top of page

Premier League Predictions, Week 10

© Micah Veldkamp, 2019

 

Welcome back to your weekly Premier League predictions! For fans of the big clubs, as well as Man U, it's been a busy week, thanks to midweek Champions League and Europa League action. That doesn't dull the anticipation for the matches the next few days at all, as we look forward to a weekend of crucial results in England.

Speaking of crucial results, my prediction scores continue to ping-pong week-to-week. Last week, I shockingly went O'fer, but I am back on my horse, after a near-perfect week. I got 4 of the 5 results correct, and were Arsenal to score an equalizer (which, in fairness, they didn't appear to have any interest in doing), I would have nailed all 5 once more. Given that I did predict a Sheffield upset of sorts, and also got two scorelines dead on, I'm giving myself a 4.5/5 for last week. This takes me to a fast-improving 16/25 on the season.

Now, the matches are less than 24 hours away from starting, so let's not waste any more time boasting before my fall. Here are your 5 for Week 10!

Southampton vs. Leicester City

How long are we going to keep including Leicester matches in our weekly predictions, you ask? As long as what they're the more relevant Top 4 threat than Manchester United (I'm not bitter, I swear). The Foxes have been in the Champions League slots since the start of the season, and tomorrow night they look to extend their brilliant season-opening run by avoid classic trap game scenario. Southampton may be on the verge of the relegation zone, but they've got enough pluck to cause real problems. On a random Friday night, at home, I think the Saints might just do that.

The Pick: Draw, 1-1

Manchester City vs. Aston Villa

I allowed myself to think, for a minute, that a 2nd consecutive Manchester City loss was feasible last week. I didn't officially predict it, of course, and it's a good thing, as City ended up winning fairly comfortably. But it speaks to the vulnerable state of the two-time defending champions that I even flirted with the possibility. That said, the thought had more to do with Crystal Palace's quality (and tendency to be City's bogey team); I don't particularly fear Guardiola's side's odds against Aston Villa at home.

The Pick: Manchester City, 3-0

Burnley vs. Chelsea

Chelsea have quietly turned their form on in very impressive fashion. Since their loss to Liverpool, the Blues have won 6 straight in all competitions. Their Champions League away win at Ajax this week was the cherry on top of a brilliant stretch that has seen them jump up to the Top 4 after a very turbulent beginning to the season. Now the trick is maintaining that form, and that will not be easy against a resurgent Burnley side. Sean Dyche has appeared to have re-instilled the belief of the 2017-18 season in his Clarets, buoyed by a suddenly fluid attack. I'm tempted to predict Burnley snatching points in this matchup, but I'll roll with the positive mojo Chelsea has.

The Pick: Chelsea, 3-2

Arsenal vs. Crystal Palace

Arsenal, Arsenal, Arsenal. When will your performances against teams you should beat ever make sense to anyone? Sheffield United is no joke, which is why I hedged my bets for last week, but Arsenal fans have to be tired of seeing their team inexplicably drop points time and time again. The Gunners return to the only-slightly-friendlier confines of Emirates Stadium this weekend, but their opponents are a notch above the Watfords and Sheffileds of the world, in terms of quality. So there's no room for not taking this one seriously, is what I'm trying to say. I *think* Arsenal wins a close one, but honestly, who knows?

The Pick: Arsenal, 1-0

Liverpool vs. Tottenham Hotspur

If ever there were a year in which Liverpool were going to end their recent spell of rotten luck at Old Trafford, this was going to be it. And yet, deep down, I just knew that match would probably go the same way nearly all Liverpool-ManU matchups have under Klopp: dull, draining, and ending with points lost for the Reds.

It's certainly not panic time for Liverpool, who salvaged a draw and still lead the League by 6 points with arguably their most feared match out of the way. But they need to stay laser-focused, as City will be looking to snap at any opportunity to make up ground, and the job doesn't get any easier. Coming to town is none other than the European Champions' 2019 Final foe, Tottenham. Spurs have certainly had a bizarrely poor season thus far, splitting their 9 matches evenly between wins, losses, and draws. It's good enough for 7th place and half the amount of points Liverpool had to date. Still, you have to imagine that goes out the window with the excitement of a Champions League Final rematch on the horizon. I just don't foresee Liverpool coming up short of a win for the 2nd straight week, not at Anfield. But if recent history has told us anything, it's that this one will be very competitive.

The Pick: Liverpool, 2-1

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page