top of page

What We're Thankful For In 2018


© Micah Veldkamp, 2018

 

Happy Thanksgiving, Couch fans!

On this, the most delicious and controversial holiday there is (I like to call it Yummy Columbus Day), a few of us wanted to honor the spirit of gratefulness and talk about what we are thankful for from the world of sports and entertainment.

We have so much to be thankful for this year. It has been a champion year for cinema and so many brand new shows have captivated Netflix audiences, and don’t forget about the year of Ariana Grande. That being said, here are what we specifically want to highlight:

Micah

Sports: The Maddest of Marches

If you know me, you know that March is my favorite month of the year for one reason, and one reason only. Getting to watch basketball around the clock for 3 weeks is literally heaven-on-earth. So, when thinking about what in sports I’m thankful for, the occasion is obvious. It’s the specific moment, though, is more difficult to pin down. I bounced back and forth between the absolute TROUNCING the University of Maryland-Baltimore County Retrievers handed the juggernaut UVA Cava-losers and the magical run that Loyola-Chicago went on, but I finally settled on a moment. Well, three to be exact...

The beauty of college basketball is that anything can happen any given night. UMBC proved that this year. And it was amazing. But to pull off the miraculous THREE TIMES IN A ROW?! Well, that’s just madness:

Three game-winning/-icing shots by three different guys from a no-name school is what I’m thankful for this year. Also, I’m v thankful I never have to see this ugly face again.

Music: The return of Andy Mineo

Andy Mineo has released two EPs and a couple singles over the course of 2018, and I couldn’t be more thankful. The EPs, I: The Arrow and II: The Sword, are particular masterpieces. Despite being an old guard in a subgenre often plagued with cheesy lyrics, cheap production, and trend-following, Mineo has evolved and created two indescribably brilliant pieces of faith-based art. And for me, during a season of change and self-searching, they fit right into my narrative and became a soundtrack to my 2018. Remember last year how Spotify did a “Your 2017 Wrapped” gimmick with your most-played songs? I wouldn’t be surprised if multiple Andy Mineo tracks are in my top 5 this year.

While I recommend listening through both EPs (they’re only 6-7 tracks long), I’ll narrow down my recommendations: Clarity, Anxiety, Friends, & Shame (feat. Josh Garrels for all y’all Garrelites).

Film: Mostly Michael B. Jordan, tbh

I’ll be honest -- I haven’t seen very many movies this year. The one movie from 2018 that I’ve seen and had strong feelings toward was Black Panther (which is saying something b/c #BoycottMarvel), but my “friend” Daniel sniped it out from under my nose. So, I’m just going to feature a trailer for a movie I haven’t seen yet, but has me HYPED. I present, Creed II (jumped outta my seat at 0:53):

Michael B. Jordan x Kung Fu Kenny? Yes please :D

Now that I’m thinking about it, maybe I just really love MBJ (I mean, obviously).

Television: Better Call ... this a great program

Ya know, I wasn’t so sure about Better Call Saul when they first announced a spin-off prequel to Breaking Bad. While BB is one of the best TV series ever produced, making a spin-off using only the most bland, mundane portions of the show seemed like a bit of a reach, even for Vince Gilligan.

Having come to the end of Season 3 however, my tune has completely changed. Better Call Saul has walked a seemingly impossible line of staying connected to BB’s storytelling and aesthetics while still existing as its own show. One of the greatest blessings prequels/sequels can give us is to live in the same universe as its predecessor while still forming its own identity. Just imagine if the Fantastic Beasts movies were actually good, how much joy it would bring you to have this amazing world of Harry Potter be brought to life again without just rehashing the same plot points and ideas over and over (and not have a mess of timeline inconsistencies). That’s what we got with Better Call Saul. I know I’m a season behind (#ThankALotNetflix), but I’m still thankful for a quality original TV series that reflects -- but doesn’t repeat -- its big brother.

 

Sierra

Music: Oh my, my, my!

I listen to a lot of music but I rarely listen to full albums anymore, especially new ones. But I did discover and fall in love with Troye Sivan, finally! Troye Sivan came out with the album Bloom this year. I fell in love when I stumbled upon the music video to "My, My, My." I was mesmerized. Then I had to wait half a year until Bloom came out! Boy howdy was it worth the wait. Troye’s lyrics are captivating, his voice is dreamy, and the beats are pulsating. It is a near perfect pop album. It’ll be on repeat until the day I die. And for that (and Troye) I am thankful.

Film: Having the opportunity to watch Sorry To Bother You

In all honesty, I am thankful for every film I’ve watched in 2018. This year is miles above the rest. I have been transported to far away galaxies, witnessed original stories, undergone heart -pounding suspense, and seen phenomenal directing. It’s impossible to pick one film but something that has still stuck with me is Sorry to Bother You. As many of you know I don’t watch trailers, especially to things I really want to see. If you have no expectations going in you’ll be happy every time. The Sierra guarantee. Sorry to Bother You was like a religious experience for me. I have never been so grateful to be in a room with strangers experiencing this movie for the first time. There is truly nothing like it and I’m sad for everyone that wasn’t able to experience it purely and openly like I was, but I’m thankful I was able to.

Television: The constant reliability of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend

Through thick and thin, Crazy Ex-Girlfriend has been there for me. I’ve seen every episode at least twice, and some far more times. On the fourth and final season I find myself turning on the DVR, or starting the episode on the CW with tears in my eyes. Nothing takes me out of this cold, dead, broken world like Rachel Bloom can. In the final season we are given a female character that does not have a linear recovery. We are given real friendships, real growth, real love, real recovery and nothing can make me happier or feel like I’m apart of a community more than my favorite show on television. I will preach the gospel of Crazy Ex-Girlfriend until the day I die and it was what I am most thankful for on television the past three years and especially this year.

 

Daniel

Sports: Eagles beating the Patriots in the Super Bowl

To be honest, there hasn't been a whole lot for this avid sports fan to cheer this year. Sure, March Madness was fun-- as was UNC beating Duke twice --, and the World Cup was nice. I loved Liverpool's run in the Champions League. But all of those ended in disheartening, anticlimactic finales, and I hate ending years with a bad taste in my mouth. So, this year, I am thankful for the New England Patriots and the Philadelphia Eagles providing a thrilling, competitive championship game in the Super Bowl, and especially for the latter, for toppling the evil empire.

Music: Kacey Musgraves’ Golden Hour

Albums that have blown me away in 2018 are few in number. But Golden Hour is something else; unapologetically brash, yet often vulnerable. Musically adventurous, but universally pleasing. And oh yeah, it’s by a Country artist. Anyone who knows me knows I have badmouthed Country to anyone who has the self-restraint to hear me out without slapping me, but Kacey (like Chris Stapleton before her) got me to listen to an entire album and LOVE it, a rare feat indeed. For that I’m thankful.

Film: Black Panther ruling the box office

I truly am thankful for each 2018 release I’ve seen, because I’ve seen just a few, but each are dynamite. I went back and forth several times on which one to single out here, and came thisclose to highlighting A Quiet Place for getting me to actually sit through a horror film, but that logic was already applied to my Kacey Musgraves selection. In actuality, I am most thankful for Black Panther being such a terrific movie (and lending critical legitimacy to the Marvel universe) and for absolutely destroying box office records. The latter has helped dispel the ridiculous myth that a non-white cast won’t sell, and that line of thought hopefully being eradicated is something I think that we can all be thankful for.

And yes, I owe it to Micah to acknowledge that he wanted to write about this movie. And also reiterate that Michael B. Jordan is bae.

Television: The Good Place getting its due

It’s quickly become TV’s worst kept secret. The Good Place, NBC’s latest in its line of terrific comedies, isn’t just funny and enjoyable, it’s one of the most original and intelligent shows on television. I am thankful that the program, perpetually snubbed on the awards circuit, is finally getting the recognition from the masses that it so wildly deserves. I’m thankful it keeps finding ways to spin such a well thought-out, clever storyline. I’m really just thankful it exists. It may not reach sentimental favorite levels that The Office and Community set the standard for, but it’s not far behind.

 

Tell us what you’re thankful for! We’d love to discover new things that are special to you! And remember on this holiday weekend if you are able, don’t participate in Black Friday, don’t buy from Amazon, and feel free to mourn for those who were murdered by the European settlers and maybe even donate to an Indigenous-Rights Organization.

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page