top of page

Sierra's Top 10 Movies of 2017


Disclaimer: I am yet to see Call Me By Your Name, I, Tonya, Phantom Thread, and Disaster Artist.

For the first time in like, ever, I was able to actually rank my Top 10 in order.

Honorable Mentions: Beauty Mark, Kingsmen: The Golden Circle, Okja, Ingrid Goes West

 

10. Baby Driver

I saw the film before the Kevin Spacey allegations came out. Matter of fact, I reviewed the film. I fell in love with this piece of art. But I really don’t think I can stomach it again - I hate Kevin Spacey. Edgar Wright created one of the most beautiful things I’ve seen ever, though, and I love this film. So, although I wanted to leave it off entirely, it was so wonderful at the time I watched it, it slips in at #10.

9. Free Fire

An hour and a half long gunfight that takes place in real time. The characters are gritty, the fight scenes are intense, and the humor is wildly top notch. An entertaining film through it all - I was a sucker for this Brie Larson film.

8. The Big Sick

Whoever marketed this as a comedy is dead to me. I have never cried so much at a comedy. We owe Kumail Nanjiani so much for sharing his story with us and also creating this fantastic retelling. Definitely not the overrated blockbuster I was expecting.

7. Girl In Flight

This film had its North American premiere at the 2017 Woodstock Film Festival-- and even won our World Cinema award. Beautifully directed by the talented Sandra Vannucchi, Girl in Flight holds a special place in my heart. A young girl runs away from her family to Rome. She meets a young Roma girl and they create a sacred bond that is torn apart by racism in modern day Italy. Filmed in real Roma camps with real Roma people this film is not only touching but educational to us as well.

6.Lady Bird

My expectations were incredibly high for this film and thank God it did not disappoint. Greta Grewig nails the relationship between a mother and a daughter, and Saoirse Ronan masterfully plays a high schooler that we can all identify with.

5. Coco

I took two of my nieces to see the film and after we painfully endured 20 minutes of "Olaf’s Frozen Adventure", we were treated to the most magical Pixar film I’ve ever seen. Coco is layered with teachable moments, beautiful Mexican culture, and toe-tapping music. It was a joy to share this piece of art and dance along with two of my favorite people.

4. Get Out

I’m at a loss for words. It became my most watched movie of 2017 at a grand total of 4 watches and a Blu-ray that I now own. Jordan Peele, thank you.

3. Girls Trip

I saw Girls Trip on opening night in a crowded theater of a hundred people. I have never laughed so hard I cried before, and then cried so hard that I laughed. A true raunchy comedy through and through, and more importantly, reminds one of the importance of friendship with 'your girls.' Tiffany Haddish was the best part of 2017 and no one can argue that.

2. Brigsby Bear

James grew up watching "Brigsby Bear Adventures" but when he realizes it isn’t real he channels his confusion into creating art. I have never felt so inspired to create something meaningful then I did when watching this film. But what I loved the most about Brigsby Bear was that we finally have a film where teenagers aren’t the bad guy, they aren’t the bully, and instead can come together to help each other through trauma and life to share magical moments and make memories. Kids are so so good. This are the young adults I know. Cry count: unlimited.

1. Raw

This film made the festival circuit in 2016 but had its release in 2017. You may know it as the film that everyone in Toronto fainted watching: a dramatic thriller about cannibalism. Every scene was unique and lyrical, every bit of symbolism profound. This female-led film was erotic and perceptive in more ways than one. I can confidently say this film is a masterpiece and Julia Ducournau created the purest piece of art I’ve seen all year.

Tags:

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page