top of page

The Best Rapper You've Never Heard Of, Pt IV


Welcome to the 4th installment of “Best Rapper You’ve Never Heard Of”!

Sorry it’s been a while since my last post (you didn’t even notice, did you? Whatever. I’m not bitter). If school’s a kicking net, then I’m OBJ. Anyways, outside of homework, real work, and the crushing depression brought on by the inexplicable collapse of Hawkeye football (tearsweeping…) I’ve finally carved out an hour or two to whip up another article. If I’m honest with myself, I should be studying, but as I’ve been saying a lot lately: “It’s Senior year!” – probably a bad excuse. Oh well.

You might be wondering how I choose who to write about… Good question! I always try to keep the subgenre as varied from article-to-article as possible, but besides that it’s pretty open. That leaves a lot of options for me. I’m an album-listener – I try to, whenever I can, listen to albums in their entirety. I do this for a variety of reasons, but mostly because artists put songs together and in a certain order for a reason. On top of that, when I find an album I really like, I put it on repeat. So, when deciding which lucky rapper gets an amateur, mediocre spotlight write-up, it usually comes down to who I’ve been listening to a lot over the past week.

This week, it’s a fantastic new album called “Coloring Book." It’s by this independent artist that goes by Chance th—

Just kidding. He’s not good enough to get a write-up.

Just kidding again. I’m not worthy of giving him a write-up.

This week, the honor of ‘Best Rapper You’ve Never Heard Of’ goes to Aha (William) Gazelle. I knew of him from his features with Social Club and Alex Faith, but I never gave his own music a listen until a few weeks ago.

I know literally nothing about him, except for the fact that he’s really good.

Aha’s music is very distinct. The instrumentals are epic, ethereal productions of pulsating basslines and mystical beats. I can’t really compare his delivery to anyone, either – it’s a never-ending swagged-out flow that somehow has a melody mixed in within the rhythm of his verses. I honestly don’t really know when he breathes – he seems to be constantly rapping. He’s also a sneakily good singer, singing all his own hooks and choruses. His lyrics aren’t especially spectacular, but the collective whole of his music often times leaves me in awe. Listen on:

Vegeta // Free Barabbas

This song perked my ears up. His very systematic, rhythmic delivery and melodic intonations separate himself from most other rappers in the game today. I love this song so much because the song slowly, slowly, slowly builds on itself, until you’re 2.5 minutes in and the beat’s smacking you in the face, Aha’s singing soprano and the bassline is swirling around your brain. Then, everything cuts out. It’s special. (The weird ending’s not my favorite, but just ignore it.)

Favorite Four Bars:

I don’t care about ya feelings / I told you mind ya business / I told you I’m a rapper / Y’all want a politician

All White Party // Trilliam

My summary: Aha = good, Aha + Jesus = great.

Favorite Four Bars:

I’m gon’ drive this car by myself, I’m gon’ go real far by myself / Even if I run out of gas, I’m gon’ be a star by myself / But you’ll never be bigger than the Son / Earth spins but there’s more to life than selling CD-Roms

Illegal Immigrants // Free Barabbas

You really hear Aha’s heart in this song, more so than the others. It’s an interesting break in his swagged-out production.

Favorite Four Bars:

I’m sick of lyin’ and I’m sick of tryin’ and I’m sick of the cryin’ I’m tired of tears / I’m sick of the dyin’ and all of the violence I wanna just leave with Buzz Lightyear / To infinity and beyond, where I only got gold color crayons / Where it don’t make sense and there is no science, where humans don’t get shot down for flyin’

Best In the World/Microwave (feat. Recc) // Free Barabbas

This is Aha telling how he began rapping. He specifically addresses pursuing a passion that others didn’t understand or want him to pursue.

Favorite Four Bars: (Speaking about his fear of his father’s disapproval of rap)

He said ‘son I’m really proud of you and I wanna let you know that I support your dreams / I’m always here if you need anything’ then shook my hand and then he said ‘proceed’ / When the door shut my eyes teared up, I just sat still for ‘bout 20 minutes / Cause even though it all made sense I really didn’t get it

Invitation // Free Barabbas

‘Invitation’ is the outro to his debut commercial album. Aha invites us to join him on his journey, addresses his race, the position of a rapper in society and a whole bunch of other stuff over the 12-minute masterpiece of an epilogue. It also showcases his incredible flow.

Favorite Four Bars: (I’m choosing eight, because it’s twelve freaking minutes long)

But anyways switchin’ the subject to me in feelings / I’ve been having a problem separating Aha from William / Hiding from the problem not knowing that the burden is me / It’s just that Aha the version of me that I always wanted to be / He wears all black with Jordans and gold chains and gold teeth / When all the cameras are all watching he just takes over the beat / He always knows what to say and he’s not afraid when he speaks / But when it all goes away he just transforms back to me

__________

I’m looking forward to listening to more and more of Aha Gazelle. His music is different, and different is good.

He has both of his commercially released albums “Free Barabbas” and “Trilliam” on SoundCloud. “Trilliam” is on Spotify, as well. Free Barabbas can be downloaded for free on Rapzilla.com, and he has other mixtapes available on Datpiff.com, as well.

Tags:

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page