top of page

Sierra's Best Movies of 2022



My only “must watch” of 2022 hasn’t come out in my area yet. Aftersun finally arrives in theaters January 6th!! Otherwise, I think I snuck the ones I cared most about in.


Honorable mention aka #11: The Fabelmans. The cameo in the final scene deserves an Oscar nom I’m being so serious.


 

10. After Yang

This could have been much higher but the lighting in the movie is SO DARK it was impossible to see in normal home-viewing conditions. It’s so human. It has beautiful world-building.

Streaming on Showtime.

 

9. Turning Red

Oh boy did I sob. Like, Coco-level gasping for air. Genuinely one of the greatest movies Pixar has ever made. A must-watch for all children and all adult daughters (also let’s be real, moms). Let’s start unlearning that generational trauma baby! 4*-TOWN snubbed (Jordan Fisher) for "Best Original Song" Oscar.


Streaming on Disney+.

 

8. Everything Everywhere All At Once

I have made my boyfriend see many movies with me since we started dating and most of the time I grimace at him as the credits roll and say, “aha so what did you think?” but this time he leaned over to me and said “I think this is the best movie you’ve made me see yet”. At the end of the day this movie is 2 and a half hours and that’s the only thing working against it.


Streaming on Amazon/Hulu.

 

7. Cyrano

Two people in the world loved this movie: myself and prolific film critic Bilge Ebiri. Every performance is fantastic, the Dessner’s slayed that soundtrack. And A GLEN HANSARD CAMEO. Gosh, it broke my heart. Maybe I secretly am a romantic….I’m losing my edge. Plus there is an iconic letterbox account called "#1 Cyrano Stan cryano4ever," and that was one of my favorite finds this year.


Streaming on Amazon Prime.

 

6. The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

The chemistry of Nick and Pedro was out of this world. Best couple on the silver screen all year. If they kissed, it probably would have been #1. A romp filled with crazy hijinks and tons of laughter. A real turn off your brain, enjoy the ride kind of flick we need more of! Just guys being dudes.


Streaming on Starz.

 

5. Weird: The Al Yankovic Story

I’m biased! Huge Weird Al fan, most anticipated movie of the entire year. The cameos, the jokes, the ending! All stuck the landing. Will be rewatching and laughing just as hard! Dan Rad you will always be famous. Streaming FOR FREE ON ROKU CHANNEL.

 

4. Hatching


No more CGI in movies. It should be illegal. Yes, I am advocating for people to lose jobs. Marvel must be stopped. This is a horror movie with a puppet and I’ve genuinely never been more scared catching glimpses of this horrifying creature. It was electrifying. Between this and The Barbarian, we had two genuinely fantastic horror movies this year. I am happy. Streaming on Hulu.

 

3. Bones And All

Probably influenced by the Q&A with Luca Guadagnino, but I went in fairly blind and genuinely could not believe how much I vibed. A beautiful YA love story and praying to God for an Oscar nom for Mark Rylance. Needed a bit more graphic cannibal-ness, imo.


Still in theaters.

 

2. Top Gun: Maverick

PUH-LEASE. I am a Top Gun hater! Famously while setting up my 90 year old Grandma’s iPad a few years ago, we needed her to answer security questions and she told us her favorite actor was Tom Cruise, and my whole family went…."what?!?" We’ve never heard her talk about him or seen her watch one of his movies. I asked her if she liked Top Gun. She said she loved it, that’s her favorite movie! So Grandma and I went and sat in reclining chairs to experience a sequel to a movie I hate (granddaughter of the year award). JOKES ON ME I LOVE MILITARY PROPAGANDA NOW! My parents would be so proud. Grandma also adored it and we had a nice afternoon together.

Streaming on Amazon Prime.

 

1. Bullet Train

Not much to say except I haven’t had this much fun at the movies ever. My initial letterbox rating is too harsh. I genuinely believe if I rewatch this movie it will be the solo 5 star movie of the year. JUSTICE FOR THE WOLF.

Streaming on Netflix.


 

One more thing: special shout out to Niall Horan for his Amazon Prime documentary Homecoming: The Road to Mullingar starring him and Lewis Capaldi. I love you babe, the most charming man in the world.

Comments


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page