top of page

Sierra's Top 10 Movies of 2021



As we here at The Couch continue to recap 2021 in sports in entertainment, Film and Television contributor Sierra Slaughter offers her ranking of the best films of an abnormal year.

 

Sad year for movies but admittedly there are plenty I haven't watched. Also I typed this on my phone. Here's my list!



10. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings

Don’t come for me, I love being a Marvel hater, but this movie was captivating, fun, exciting, and new? A grand time.

Streaming on Disney+.

 

9. Old

Mid Size Sedan as a rappers name is one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard. M Night really crushed it with this, don’t listen to the haters baby.


Rentable.

 

8. In The Heights

A second musical on the list, what a time to be alive!! A joyful joyful time. So thankful to have seen this. Might have been better on the big screen but a pandemic's gonna pandemic.


Rentable.

 

7. Werewolves Within

Laugh out loud who-dun-it. My Sam Richardson bias is showing.


Rentable.

 

6. Dune

Shockingly enjoyed the heck out of. Quickest 2.5 hour movie I’ve ever watched.


Rentable.

 

5. Marvelous and the Black Hole

A GEM! A hidden gem. I hope it’s released widely soon. Not yet streaming.

 

4. The Mitchells vs. The Machines


Go to Netflix right now and watch this, I never laughed so hard. Streaming on Netflix.

 

3. tick, tick...BOOM!

Andrew Garfield Oscar campaign!!


Streaming on Netflix.

 

2. Playing With Sharks

I love docs where you learn about someone you otherwise might not have known. And with stunning footage of sharks? Just excellent.

Streaming on Disney+.

 

1. Bo Burnham: Inside

Yes I'm considering this a movie. It's a masterpiece. Absolutely devastating. Intimate. Personal. Feels so so special to me, the only perfect thing I watched this year.

Streaming on Netflix.

Comments


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page