top of page

Sierra's Best Movies of 2020



What an absolutely bonkers year for movies. Even though I didn’t rent everything I wanted, I saw most of my top picks for the year (Promising Young Woman, please just go on VOD, I’m sick and tired of people seeing it in theaters....I’m so so exhausted let me have this one movie). The year is stacked and as you can see from my list 3 are documentaries with 4 other documentary films narrowly missing the list. Also! Get on letterbox and follow me! My first 3 films on the list I gave 5 stars. The next 5 I gave 4.5 stars. And the final 2 I gave 4 stars. I barely even dipped into the other dozen or so 2020 releases I rated 4 stars.


**Note: Technically a movie that is on my top 10 list is What the Constitution Means to Me, but it feels weird to add a play to the list and didn’t sit right with my soul even though it is absolutely required viewing.

Honorable Mentions: The Assistant, A Secret Love, First Cow (which has the best ending to a movie I ever remember seeing), Palm Springs, Boy’s State, Totally Under Control, Never Rarely Sometimes Always, To All the Boys: P.S. I Still Love You


10. Deerskin

At the very beginning of the year I went wild and rented this for $10 on one of the virtual cinema things. It’s a French horror comedy starring Jean Dujardin (my husband) and Adele Haenel. I don’t want to spoil too much, but he’s basically obsessed with his leather jacket and then does violent crime! Also, an incredible runtime of 1 hour and 17 minutes.

Streaming on HBO Max.

 

9. Not Carol

I famously decided to get a Starz 7-day trial and I binged 2 miniseries, 2 television shows, and watched like 4 or 5 movies within that time. It was a busy week! The film itself isn’t the most spectacular documentary I’ve seen, but the content is so horrifying. Huge Trigger Warning: It's about a woman who suffers from postpartum psychosis and how everyone failed her every step of the way. The tragic story ends with her murdering her children. It just shows the system does nothing to care for women who ask for help. The talking heads are filled with other women/husbands who suffered the same psychosis. Some also killed their children and some killed themselves in order to “save” their children from themselves. It’s powerful and a must watch, if you can stomach the content. This film and these women will be with me forever. How can we do better for people having children?

Streaming on Starz.

 

8. Soul

The soundtrack is incredible, the animation is gorgeous and this really hits you in the ~soul~ if you will. I think watching this in COVID times makes it that much harder to stomach when it feels like we aren’t living the life we have envisioned for ourselves. One of Pixar’s best ever.

Streaming on Disney+.

 

7. Feels Good Man

Another flick I rented. It’s about Pepe the Frog, the meme, and how he became an alt-right symbol. Spoiler: that is not what the cartoonist intended! It’s really smart about the internet and doesn’t talk down to anyone which feels so rare when documentaries are made about 'internet culture.' It’s genuinely interesting and really sad. $3.99 to rent on VOD.

 

6. The Platform

This is a Spanish horror movie my Dad and I stumbled on one day. It’s Cube + Snowpiercer + Original Things and we had a blast watching. Definitely a movie most people will say “meh” about, but sick weirdos like the Slaughters will love. Streaming on Netflix.

 

5. Lover's Rock

Steve McQueen’s Small Axe series is unbelievable. My “least favorite” of them I rated 3.5 stars which is still really good? Lover’s Rock is the second film in the series, and I have no idea how awards will handle these five films so I’m just throwing Lover’s Rock here to cover my bases. I really think all five could make my list if I sat and thought about it. Lover’s Rock is gorgeous, lyrical, and made me deeply, deeply miss “normal” life. The longing. My God. All 5 films streaming on Amazon Prime.

 

4. Another Round

One of the few films I have been counting down to see. Everything you’ve heard about Mads Mikkelson deserving a nomination is true. If you can afford the $6.99 rental you will not be disappointed. This movie also has one of the best scenes of the year (you’ll know when you see it). This movie inspired my Dad to buy a breathalyzer. Streaming on Amazon Prime.

 

3. Get Duked!

The only movie I watched twice this year, and within 48 hours no less. It’s a wild comedy where the jokes land the second time, which is unreal! Has one of my favorite scenes of the year- I don’t wanna spoil too much, so please just trust me! Streaming on Amazon Prime.

 

2. Dick Johnson Is Dead

Even though Dick Johnson is currently not dead this has a lot of theoretical 'dead Dad' content so be aware. With that said, I truly believe Kirsten Johnson is one of the best filmmakers alive right now. This documentary is so innovative. It includes so much humor and heart and will change your perception of what you think documentaries are “allowed” to be.

Streaming on Netflix.

 

1. Sound Of Metal

An absolute stunning piece of art. It is simply gorgeous. Riz Ahmed is not only at 'career best' levels, he is like 'all time best actor' levels. This movie blew me away and then some. It’s so powerful, it’s so delicate, thoughtful, and I am thankful it was made.

Streaming on Amazon Prime.

Comments


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page