top of page

Premier League Predictions, Week 7


 

Welcome back to the weekly predictions, Premier League fans! Premier League teams joined the League Cup action in the middle of this week, but now all eyes turn back to league action.


Much like my favorite team Liverpool, after a mediocre year, I've enjoyed a terrific start to my prediction season. If my first week was decent, last week was the best I've had in perhaps ages. It wasn't entirely flawless, as I put too much hope in Chelsea, who instead disappointed against Aston Villa. But in the North London Derby draw, and in Manchester City's, Liverpool's, and Brighton's victories, I got the other 4 correct. What's more, I completely nailed the 2-0 scoreline in City's win, and 2-2 scoreline between Arsenal and Tottenham. That gives me a 5-point week, which pushes my season total to an early, impressive 8.5/10 mark.


Now, the matches are less than 24 hours from kicking off, so let's not waste any more time giving myself extra credit. Here are your 5 for Week 7!


Newcastle United vs. Burnley

After a very underwhelming start to the season, it’s been a terrific four-match stretch for Newcastle: 2 straight Premier League wins (including an 8-0 annihilation of Sheffield last weekend), a surprise draw against Milan in the Champions League, and an upset of Manchester City in the League Cup. Vincent Kompany and Burnley would love to finally notch their first win in the league season, but I can’t imagine it’s gonna come in this fixture.

The Pick: Newcastle, 4-1

Wolverhampton Wanderers vs. Manchester City

I don’t know which result from the last two weeks Wolves fans would feel worse about: blowing a halftime lead against Liverpool or having to settle for a point against last-place Luton Town. Regardless, it’s gonna get a whole lot worse tomorrow against champions City.

The Pick: Man City, 4-0

Bournemouth vs. Arsenal


Arsenal have enjoyed solid results to start the season, but have only rarely looked the part of contender, as epitomized by their frustrating draw in the North London Derby. With an injury list that’s piling up, and a tricky opponent on the road, I wouldn’t be shocked if another frustrating draw is on the horizon

The Pick: Draw, 1-1


Aston Villa vs. Brighton and Hove Albion


Two of the exciting overachievers from last season are off to flying starts again, but Brighton in particular, knocking off Newcastle and Man United already this season. Villa gets this one at home, but I think have yet to prove themselves against top competition this season, whereas the Gulls always seem to ride to meet the occasion.


The Pick: Brighton, 2-1



Tottenham Hotspur vs. Liverpool

This has the potential to be one of the tastiest matchups we’ve had in this young season. Two teams near the top of the table, yet to lose a match this season, that play a very open style of attacking football, with incredibly likable managers. And oh by the way, these two tend to play incredibly memorable matches already. I have an inkling Liverpool is very much back, but I’m also a believer in Ange’s Tottenham, and this particular fixture is in North London. It would not shock me to see either team win this one, but I suspect points might be shared.


The Pick: Draw, 2-2








Комментарии


RECENT POSTS
bottom of page