top of page

Sierra's Top TV Shows of the Decade


Credit: TV Guide

When someone needs a television show recommended I am usually the friend they come to. I currently watch 47 shows that are STILL releasing episodes. That means I had well over 50 shows to choose from for the entire decade. Television was huge in my family, watching Survivor together on Thursday nights (now Wednesdays), obsessing over our favorite minor character from The Office, watch parties for the final season of LOST. . . we had it all, folks.

Shows are hardly accessible anymore, and a lot of my television watching does still come from cable. Yes, I have access to Hulu, HBO, and Netflix, but other than that, nothing. I’ve watched shows I love be cancelled or take years in between seasons because viewership went from 7 million a week to 1 million- which means I’ve always felt this weird moral superiority forcing me to only watch television legally.

Before we get into it, it takes A LOT for me to quit watching a show; I am a completionist by nature. That said, here are the very few shows I gave up on this decade:

  • Chilling Adventures of Sabrina

  • Santa Clarita Diet

  • Marvelous Mrs. Maisel

  • Friends From College

  • Stranger Things

  • Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt

  • 13 Reasons Why

  • Empire (which I might finish since they announced the final season right after I stopped watching lol I hate myself).

When my friends come to me for new shows I usually scroll through TV Time (the best app to track shows) and I spit out a Sierra Log Line for about five or six shows I think they might like.

I’ve written about some of my favorite shows in the past few years so I have linked old blogs to them, for you to read if you wish. You’ll probably want to fight me, shouting “I can’t believe x isn’t on your list!” There’s a great reason why it isn’t! Because there’s TOO MUCH DAMN TELEVISION and I probably didn’t watch it.

Here are my ten best shows of the decade with a Sierra Log Line attached. Special awards and honorable mentions (numbers 11–15) at the end. Enjoy!

 

10. American Vandal (2017–2018)

Credit: The Daily Beast

A mockumentary, and the greatest first season of television I’ve ever watched. Available on Netflix.

 

9. Sweet/Vicious (2016–2017)

Credit: Variety

You ever want to take down rapists? Have no fear, the teens are on it! (cw: abuse). Available to purchase for $1.99 almost anywhere. Read my blog I wrote about the show back in 2017.

 

8. Sorry for Your Loss (2018-Present)

Credit: The Atlantic

Learning how to publicly grieve on Facebook Watch (cw: suicide, alcohol, death). Yes, available on Facebook Watch.

 

7. Hannibal (2013–2015)

Credit: Amazon

Pure art…and cannibalism. Available on Amazon Prime.

 

6. Derry Girls (2018-Present)

Credit: Hollywood Reporter

I don’t know a single thing they say but I can’t stop laughing. Subtitles needed. Available on Netflix.

 

5. Nathan For You (2013–2017)

Credit: Indiewire

A reality show about a man with a [real] business degree helping out the little guy. Available on Hulu and Comedy Central Website.

 

4. Last Tango in Halifax (2012-Idk*)

*It Keeps Taking Multiple Years Off No One Ever Knows If It’s Cancelled Or Not

Credit: PBS

Old British people fall in love I promise it’s good no one believes me please watch. Available on Netflix.

 

3. Atlanta (2016-Present)

Credit: Much.com

Each episode is completely different than the last, and not to be dramatic but it’s low key mind-blowing. Available on Hulu.

 

2. Terrace House (2012-Present)

Credit: Reddit

A reality show in another language that will touch your soul. Available on Netflix. I wrote about this a few days ago.

 

1. Crazy Ex Girlfriend (2015–2019)

Credit: EntityMag

A musical dramedy that will quite literally change your life (cw: literally any triggering thing ever is in this show but done in a beautiful and gorgeous way). Available on Netflix. I wrote about this one time and then another time I fought some Vulture writer and they never replied.

 

Honorable mentions (Numbers 11–15):

  • Succession (2018-Present)

  • My Mad Fat Diary (2013–2015)

  • The OA (2016–2019)

  • Broad City (2014–2019)

  • The Mindy Project (2012–2017)

Worst Name Change for a Show: Lovesick (2014–2018)...formerly Scrotal Recall

Hidden Gem That Put a Smile On My Face: Zach Stone Is Gonna Be Famous (2013)

Most Frustrating Show That Ruined My Life I Hate So Much But Would Fight Anyone That Says Anything Negative: SMASH (2012–2013)

Would Probably Be On The List If It Had More Than One Season: What We Do in the Shadows (2019-Present)

Would Be On The List If The Final Season Wasn’t Complete Trash: Jane the Virgin (2014–2019)

Has My Fav Scene Of The Decade Probably: The Leftovers (2014–2017)

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page