top of page

Premier League Predictions, Week 11

© Micah Veldkamp, 2019

 

Welcome back to your weekly Premier League predictions! We're reaching that time of the year where your favorite club is probably playing two matches a week, between the Premier League, and the Champions League, and the Europa League and the FA Cup, and the Carabao Cup, and the Piston Cup, and the Rose Bowl Game presented by Vizio, and the Lexus Stoppage Time Cup, etc. etc. I will never complain about watching as much football as possible, but I imagine the players get fatigued and managers could probably do without fretting over which players to rotate in and out.

One thing I'm not fretting over: my predictions! After weeks of chaos, for better or for worse, I finally had my first "pretty good" weekend of predictions in a while. In terms of results, I got 3 out of 5 correct. Not only were my Man City and Liverpool win predictions correct, but my projected scores were dead on as well. Unfortunately, my chances at another flawless outing were done in by the always-confounding Arsenal yet again, as they conceded two goals, and ultimately two points, to Crystal Palace. As for my Leicester-Southampton 1-1 draw pick? Let's just say I was a touch off on that. Still, my little City-Liverpool score success is enough to warrant a 3.5 for me, I think. This takes me to a palatable 19.5/30 on the season.

Now, the matches are less than 12 hours away from starting, so let's not waste any more time boasting before my fall. Here are your 5 for Week 11!

Arsenal vs. Wolverhampton Wanderers

I don't know what it's like to be an Arsenal fan, but thanks to the expletive-laden explosions of texts I get from my friends each week, I kind of understand. I know I talk about this every week, but there truly is no team as confusing as Arsenal is. So much talent, such exciting football, and so consistently bad at putting away matches that should be wins (see this week's League Cup match as an example). Wolves have been a shell of the Europa League-qualifying side they were last season, but their upset of Manchester City a month ago shows they still have tricks up their sleeve. And until I can see the Gunners finish off a team convincingly, I may not predict a win for them again.

The Pick: Draw, 2-2

Manchester City vs. Southampton

Occasional stumbles this season aside, injuries and all, Manchester City still probably has the most talented team in the World. Last week, Southampton lost to Leicester City by a record-tying scoreline of 0-9. I'm just saying, anything other than a huge City win would be an enormous shock. In fact, I'm going to go ahead and predict the biggest win of all time to cover my bases.

The Pick: Manchester City, 10-0

Watford vs. Chelsea

Watford, despite currently being last place in the league, actually hasn't lost in the Premier League in over a month, and that includes impressive results against Arsenal and Tottenham. However, they also haven't won a single Premier League match this year. Furthering the bad news is that this weekend's opponent is a side that has won their last 4 in the Premier League, and, before their midweek elimination in the League Cup, had won 8 in a row in all competitions. Is it possible Watford prove a tougher out than expected? Absolutely. But it's hard to dislike the Blues' trajectory at this point.

The Pick: Chelsea, 3-0

Aston Villa vs. Liverpool

Liverpool is still comfortably atop the Premier League table, but it's been some time since they had a comfortable Premier League win. Last week, it took a come-from-behind effort to win it late vs. Tottenham. In preceding weeks, they drew Manchester United, beat Leicester only on a last-minute penalty, and beat Sheffield United only on a late goalkeeper gaffe. Aston Villa, meanwhile, have sneakily been on a run of good form, losing just 1 of their last 6. Don't be stunned to see them finding ways to take points off of Liverpool tomorrow, but in the end I think it will be yet another nervy road win for the Reds.

The Pick: Liverpool, 2-1

Crystal Palace vs. Leicester City

Leicester are the Top 4 party-crashers this year, and if there were any questions about how legitimate of a threat they were to remain in that position, the Foxes answered them in resounding fashion with their 9-0 victory last weekend. But Crystal Palace, sitting in a not-so-distant 6th place is no laughing matter. They've lost just 3 matches (two of them to Manchester City and Tottenham), own a win over Manchester United, and just last week rallied from two goals down to draw Arsenal at Emirates Stadium. It's hard to bet against Leicester these days, and I know I looked like a fool last time I predicted a 1-1 draw for them. But, I'm going out on a limb with yet another Draw forecast, because I think the slight talent and coaching advantages Leicester have can be offset by the Eagles' toughness and home-field advantage.

The Pick: Draw, 1-1

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page