top of page

Premier League Predictions, Week 14

© Micah Veldkamp, 2018

 

You might notice this piece is not in its usual Friday night timeslot. It's not that I didn't think today's matches weren't worth a watch (Bournemouth and Southampton gave the Manchester teams some battle today, for example). But rather, Week 14 in the Premier League is a strange one; this marks the beginning of December's absurd Premier League scheduling, where teams still play on weekends, but add a midweek match as well. Because why get a winter break when you can instead play 8 matches in 4 weeks in the middle of snow or freezing rain?

It's also worth noting that several of the clubs have Europa League or Champions League matches (which I DON'T WANT TO TALK ABOUT) in the middle of the weeks, too. Rest is for the months of not-December, I guess.

Anyways, over Thanksgiving week, I had my worst week yet, going 2 for 5. I did nail the Manchester City - West Ham scoreline, though, so I'll grant myself a much needed 2.5. That drops my record to a rough 38.5 for 54. Now, the matches are less than 12 hours away from starting, so let's not waste any time groveling. Here are your 5 for Week 14!

Arsenal vs. Tottenham

The first North London derby is tomorrow morning, and comes at a great time in the season for both teams. Arsenal is rounding into splendid attacking form under Unai Emery, and Tottenham are coming off a massive win against Chelsea last week. I imagine this will be the most entertaining watch of the week. I've been inaccurately skeptical of Tottenham in recent weeks (including last one), but I really do think the Gunners win this one in their home stadium.

The Pick: Arsenal, 3-2

Liverpool vs. Everton

That's right, Derby Day isn't just for North London! The Merseyside Derby kicks off immediately afterward. Everton have sneakily started to play solid football, whereas Liverpool continues to fluctuate between dominant Premier League victories and Champions League capitulations (I SAID I DON'T WANT TO TALK ABOUT IT). It's tough to truly know how these matches go, but one thing's for sure: Liverpool doesn't concede at Anfield. That, I think, will prove to be the difference in a typically tight affair.

The Pick: Liverpool, 2-0

Watford vs. Manchester City

If this were anyone but Man City, I'd warn about the "trap game" potential on this Tuesday kickoff. Watford, fresh off a loss to Leicester, is not playing at the consistent form they had to start the season, but as we saw against Tottenham and Manchester United, they have the pieces to trouble any and every team, especially at home. But again, this is Manchester City we're talking about. I've notoriously picked Watford matches incorrectly all year, as recently as last week, but I feel a LITTLE more confident this time.

The Pick: Manchester City, 2-1

Wolves vs. Chelsea

Wolverhampton is the another Watford: exciting attack, organized midfield, and punching above their weight. If Chelsea hadn't recently dropped points to Everton and Tottenham, I'd be inclined to give Wolves a point at home, but I just think the Blues will be hungry, even desperate for 3 points.

The Pick: Chelsea, 2-1

Manchester United vs. Arsenal

Man, what a week for Arsenal. Just 72 hours after facing rivals Tottenham, they get to travel to Manchester to take on the Red Devils. Even in the middle of the night, I expect Old Trafford will be rocking for what is the latest "must-win" for United, in a season that has felt full of them. Arsenal has been the better side this year, but Mourinho and co. have responded best when their backs have been against the wall.

The Pick: Manchester United, 2-1

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page