top of page

Premier League Predictions, Week 5

© Micah Veldkamp, 2018

 

This week, we joyfully return from an international break. It's funny, growing up I used to follow international soccer religiously, and club football not at all, other than the Champions League Final. Now, in my days of passionately following Liverpool and the Premier League at large, I find these international breaks nothing more than a nuisance, a momentum break in the domestic season that's usually good for bringing a couple Liverpool players back injured. Fortunately, crisis appears to be mostly averted (at least for my team) this time around.

Two weeks ago, I considered my impressive start to the prediction season, going 4.5 for 5. I predicted the 4 victories correctly, and though I did not foretell Watford defeating Tottenham, I did predict them snagging a point from the Spurs, so I'm going to give myself partial credit for that. Thank you, thank you. I accept your praise.

Now, the matches are less than 12 hours away from starting, so let's not waste any time. Here are your 5 for Week 5!

Tottenham vs. Liverpool

The unquestioned match of the week is, inexplicably, the earliest one of the slate as well. At the crack of dawn here in the States, Tottenham hosts Liverpool in a "Big 6" matchup at Wembley Stadium. All signs point to trouble for Spurs; the North London side's start to the season has been ragged, with unfortunate delays on the unveiling of their home stadium and an embarrassing loss to Watford their last time out. Making matters worse, they're preparing to host the first-placed team without stars Dele Alli and Hugo Lloris.

And yet, I just can't see Liverpool stealing away with more than a point in this match. Tottenham's one of the few teams that can go head-to-head with the Reds' aggressive attacking style, and they had their number last year. If they were at full health, I'd pick a win for Spurs, but I'll instead say they split the points.

The Pick: Draw, 1-1

Chelsea vs. Cardiff City

All due respect to the up-and-comers from Wales, the only storyline surrounding this match is whether Chelsea can continue their perfect start to the season. Again, I mean no disrespect but expect the answer to that question to be an emphatic "Yes." Chelsea's defense might be leaky enough still to cause some nervy moments, but Eden Hazard and the attack are as fluid as ever.

The Pick: Chelsea, 4-1

Newcastle vs. Arsenal

This might low-key be one of the best games this weekend, a matchup between two sides who have had extremely underwhelming starts to the season, relative to the talent they have. Smart money is on Arsenal continuing their slow turnaround, but I think the Magpies, desperate for anything but a loss, will do enough at home to at least share the points.

The Pick: Draw, 2-2

Manchester City vs. Fulham

The defending champions have had a good start to the year, but by their own lofty standards, something seems amiss. They were stunned a few weeks ago when they were held by Wolves to a point, and on a couple other occasions, wins have been harder to come by than they should be. Fulham might just be coming off promotion to the League, but they won't be any easier an out than City's last couple opponents, thanks to their tireless attack. Still, expect a tighter back line from the Citizens after what had to be an intense week of Guardiola practices.

The Pick: Manchester City, 2-0

Watford vs. Manchester United

United will be trying to continue the Jose Mourinho Rehabilitation Tour for the 2nd straight week. And Watford? They'll be trying to beat a Big 6 opponent and stay perfect for the 2nd straight week. It's, perhaps surprisingly, a can't-miss match, and I wouldn't be surprised if it lives up to the billing. I want to believe Watford's hot start will continue, but I just think the Red Devils will come back from the international break revamped.

The Pick: Manchester United, 2-1

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page