top of page

The Year So Far: TV Is So Good, I Promise

I have been watching a lot of shows on my television this year, like a lot, and Netflix has also come out with a lot of programs, like a lot. So here is a list of the new stuff I watched this year and my thorough opinions on them:

  • 13 Reasons Why - Hard pass

  • The OA - Classic Marling/Batmanglij

  • Santa Clarita Diet - I honestly forgot I watched it

  • Chasing Cameron - I had to...for science

  • The Mick - That physical comedy tho

  • Chewing Gum - Totally binge-worthy

  • Grace and Frankie Season 4 - Unforgettable

  • Glow - YES x 10

  • Dear White People - Wow

  • Handmaid’s Tale - sp00ky

  • Great News - Cute and funny enough

  • Riverdale - I’m weird. I’m a weirdo.

  • Atlanta - The best out of everything.

I finally started and am halfway done with The Leftovers. So far the Season 2 music is blowing my mind, but that’s about it.

----------------------------------------------

Okay phew, got all the popular stuff out of the way and now here are the three (3) best new-to-me shows of 2017. These 3 are a cartoon, a reality show, and a comedy.

As many of my true fans know, I did watch, in full, every single Hey Arnold! episode. It took me a while to trek through 100 episodes but it was so worth it. I noticed I am very passionate about children’s programming and the effort (or lack thereof) that goes into creating it. I filmed many snapchat rants on how Hey Arnold! failed me but also how Hey Arnold! brought me to tears and made me laugh out loud in my bedroom. I highly suggest going back to a childhood show you thought you loved and re-watching every single episode in order. You’ll find hidden gems, you’ll notice character voice changes, you’ll see inconsistencies, and you’ll be connected to the exact moment in time you first saw the episode. Arnold is a total keeper, a 4th grader that is more responsible than most parents I know. He is constantly putting others first and learning valuable lessons in some undisclosed city. By the way, there's also there’s an episode about Grandpa fistfighting Hitler. It’s insane television.

-----------------------------------------------

Terrace House is a Japanese reality show, and a totally different kind of reality show at that! There’s no prize. No competition. Just three girls and three guys living in a house together. They keep their jobs, they continue going to school; all that changes is where they come home to at night. In Terrace House, which has two seasons on Netflix, everyone is so kind and so shy. They're simply longing to make it in show business, or just to spice up their life. They can leave the house whenever they want, and when they leave, a new member arrives to take their place. But in between every scene there is a panel of comedians and just all around famous people from Japan that gossip about the cast and dissect every last move they make. Here is an example of how wonderful this show truly is:

-----------------------------------------------

Finally, The Good Place is a comedy that features Ted Danson and Kristen Bell. And holy shirtballs is it fantastic! The Good Place is a very basic concept: Kristen Bell dies and goes to heaven, but it’s not like heaven in the Bible or a heaven in any religion. Oh also did I mention, Bell's character isn’t actually supposed to be in heaven? Intrigued yet? Everyone’s favorite Calvin College graduate Marc Evan Jackson even plays a significant role in later episodes. I don’t want to talk too much about the show for fear of spoiling it, but let me tell you it starts off strong and ends forking amazing. I am counting down the hours until Season 2.

Let me know what shows you watched for the first time in 2017. I could always use suggestions. This year has such great television and I NEED TO WATCH IT ALL! Leave a comment!

Tags:

RECENT POSTS
bottom of page